Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

DOCJT: Boyd and Houk among Dispatch Academy graduates

Kayla Boyd of the Barren-Metcalfe Emergency Communications Center and Zechariah Houk of the Campbellsville Police Department among 25 to complete training.

By Kelly Foreman

Richmond, KY - Twenty-five law enforcement dispatchers graduated Friday from the Public Safety Dispatch Academy at the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training. This class included nine trainees of distinction.

Dispatch basic training is mandatory for any sworn or civilian employee who will dispatch law enforcement officers by radio at a Criminal Justice Information Systems agency. DOCJT also provides in-service and leadership training for Kentucky public safety dispatchers and law enforcement officers.

The graduates hail from communications centers across the state, and comprise DOCJT's 117th telecommunications academy class, which first began in 1999.

The five weeks of training consisted of 205 hours of academy instruction to satisfy mandated training requirements. Major training areas included identifying the role and responsibilities of the dispatcher, correct phone and radio procedures, handling emergency and non-emergency calls for service, emergency medical dispatch protocols and use of the state and national criminal databases.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University's campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies' public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accredited through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 - making it the nation's only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

Class 117 graduates and their agencies are:
  • Kayla Boyd, Barren-Metcalfe Emergency Communications Center
  • Samson James Churchwell, Bell County Dispatch
  • *Taylor D. Craft, Madison County E-911
  • Raven Day, Madisonville Police Department
  • Patricia Diehl, Danville Police Department
  • * John P. Gallagher, Henderson Police Department
  • Austin Hale, Nelson County 911 Dispatch
  • *Shannon R. Hicks, Greenup County E-911
  • *Zechariah Houk, Campbellsville Police Department
  • Kristy Alene Hunt, Martin County 911, graduate of 165 1/2-hour Non-CJIS Public Safety Dispatch Academy
  • Brittany Janes, Madisonville Police Department
  • * Cameron S. Miller, Henderson Police Department
  • Alyssa Jayne Pelfrey, Radcliff Police Department
  • * Victoria B. Pinerola, Owensboro Police Department
  • Ashley N. Pingleton, Madison County E-911
  • Denise Michelle Proctor, Calloway County Sheriff's Office
  • Rebecca Kayleen Romano, Logan County E.C.C.
  • Faith Ann Ruckel, Lewis County EMA-911
  • Kaitlin Nichole Sanders, Breckinridge County Sheriff's Office
  • Shalise Ranstrom Saylor, Madison County E-911
  • Jacob Allan Steiner, Madison County E-911
  • Drew Swanigan, Georgetown/Scott County E-911
  • Jonathan Waters, Bullitt County E-911 Dispatch
  • Allison Weatherholt, Henderson Police Department
  • Dustin L. Wood, Livingston County E-911
* Denotes Trainee of Distinction

This story was posted on 2018-04-23 16:25:53
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.