Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Twenty-Two officers graduate from DOCJT Sergeant's Course

Scotty Perian of the Campbellsville Police Department is among the graduates of the three-week program, which focuses on leadership

By Kelly Foreman

Richmond, KY -- Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training's Academy of Police Supervision.

APS, also called the sergeant's academy, is a three-week, 122-hour training program targeted for newly promoted sergeants or officers who are on their agency's promotion list to become sergeants.

While in APS, students participate in classes focusing on the role of a supervisor, leadership, resolving conflict, managing diversity, monitoring officer performance, professional image, legal issues for supervisors, ethics, interpersonal communication, effective written communication, making decisions, solving problems, managing critical incidents, public speaking, emotional survival, media relations and others.

The graduating class is the 72nd to complete APS since the program began in 2003. Ashland Police Chief Todd Kelley served as guest speaker.

APS is a stepping stone to DOCJT's Kentucky Leadership Institute, which consists of a series of three progressive leadership courses aimed at developing and shaping future and current leaders in law enforcement agencies across the commonwealth.

DOCJT is a state agency located on Eastern Kentucky University's campus. The agency is the first in the nation to be accredited under the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies' public safety training program designation. DOCJT also earned accreditation through the International Association for Continuing Education and Training in 2013 - making it the nation's only law enforcement training academy to achieve dual accreditation by two independent accrediting organizations.

The APS Class 72 graduates and their agencies are:
  1. Micah D. Amstutz, Maysville Police Department
  2. Michael E. Ball, Louisville Metro Police Department
  3. Brian J. Clark, Ashland Police Department
  4. Brett Dover, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  5. Gregory P. Eastham, Ludlow Police Department
  6. Eric A. Edbrooke, Shively Police Department
  7. Jason Fields, Kenton County Police Department
  8. Jeremy S. Garrison, Stanford Police Department
  9. Lawrence J. Hoppius, Newport Police Department
  10. Scott Horn, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
  11. William J. Hunt, Ft. Thomas Police Department
  12. George C. Kreutzjans, Ft. Wright Police Department
  13. Taylor R. Miller, Hardin County Sheriff's Office
  14. James E. Mills, Jr., Taylor Mill Police Department
  15. Dustin Mullins, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife
  16. Jeremy Nettles, Scott County Sheriff's Office
  17. Scotty Perian, Campbellsville Police Department
  18. Daniel Pollock, Flemingsburg Police Department
  19. Matthew Sauerbeck, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  20. James D. Talbott, Scottsville Police Department
  21. Wilbur David Tindall, Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
  22. James M. Wright, Grant County Sheriff's Office

This story was posted on 2017-09-29 10:51:05
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

22 officers graduate from the DOCJT Sergeant's Course

2017-09-29 - Richmond, KY - Photo courtesy DOCJT.
Law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth were recognized today for completing the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training's Academy of Police Supervision. Among the graduates was Scotty Perian of the Campbellsville Police Department.

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.