Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Lt. Gov. Hampton honors Fallen Troopers and Officers

At KSP Memorial Service, KSP Training Academy

By LT. Michael Webb
Kentucky State Police, Frankfort, KY

FRANKFORT, KY (25 May 2017) - Lt. Gov. Jenean Hampton joined Justice Cabinet Secretary John Tilley and Kentucky State Police Commissioner Rick Sanders to remember fallen KSP troopers and officers at a memorial service and wreath-laying ceremony held today at the KSP Training Academy in Frankfort.

"We are here to honor those who gave their lives in the line of duty and recognize the sacrifices of their families," said Lt. Gov. Hampton. "The courage, compassion, and commitment of not only fallen officers, but of all officers across Kentucky is truly humbling."

"There is no greater measure of commitment than sacrificing one's life for the safety and security of others," said Secretary Tilley. "Not only on this day, but every day, it's our duty to honor our fallen heroes and their families by making the most of what they have given us."

KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders provided a heartfelt message to all of the fallen officer family members in attendance at the ceremony.

"We will continue to honor our fallen officers to ensure that those who dedicated their lives to the Commonwealth of Kentucky will never be forgotten," said Sanders. "Their service and ultimate sacrifice inspire us all, and we will never forget them or the families they left behind."

Thirty Kentucky State Police troopers and officers have died in the line of duty since the agency was established in 1948. They include:

  • Trooper Harold J. Toll: November 14, 1948

  • Trooper Robert R. Miller: February 14, 1951

  • Trooper Lee T. Huffman: May 19, 1953

  • Trooper Herbert C. Bush: October 11, 1958

  • Trooper William E. Tevis: May 26, 1963

  • Trooper Elmer Mobely Jr.: May 28, 1964

  • Trooper Cecil W. Uzzle: May 28, 1964

  • Trooper Delano G. Powell: July 8, 1965

  • Trooper Mack E. Brady: November 9, 1966

  • Trooper William Barrett: December 19, 1971

  • Trooper James McNeely: April 8, 1972

  • KSP Water Patrol Officer David Childs, April, 8, 1972

  • Trooper Walter O. Thurtell: September 29, 1972

  • Trooper Joe Ward Jr.: April 23, 1973

  • Lieutenant William C. Smith: April 26, 1973

  • Trooper John Hutchinson: June 4, 1975

  • Trooper Bobby McCoun: September 1, 1975

  • Trooper William Pickard: January 21, 1976

  • Lieutenant Willis Martin: April 26, 1977

  • Trooper Clinton Cunningham: February 11, 1979

  • Trooper Edward Harris: November 7, 1979

  • Trooper Jerome S. Clifton: October 1, 1980

  • Detective Darrell V. Phelps: August 7, 1981

  • Trooper Johnny M. Edrington: December 21, 1988

  • Trooper Johnny G. Adkins: November 24, 1995

  • CVE Officer Jason Cammack: April 23, 2000

  • Trooper Jonathan K. Leonard: December 19, 2006

  • Trooper Anson B. Tribby: January 22, 2013

  • Trooper Eric K. Chrisman: June 23, 2015

  • Trooper Joseph C. Ponder: September 13, 2015

This story was posted on 2017-05-26 03:16:08
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

Lt. Gov. Hampton salutes wreath honoring fallen officers

2017-05-26 - Kentucky State Police Academy - Photo from Lt. Michael Webb, KSP, Frankfort.
Lt. Gov. Hampton salutes a wreath at an indoor ceremony on the campus of the Kentucky State Police Academy in remembrance of the 30 fallen troopers and officers of the Kentucky State Police. - LT. MICHAEL WEBB, KSP

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.