Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

LWC: 2019-20 Honors Convocation Award Recipients

Click headline for story with all of this year's award winners

By Venus Popplewell

The annual honors convocation ceremony had to be cancelled, but LWC faculty, staff and administration found other ways to honor more than five dozen individuals for academic achievement during the 2019-20 academic year.

LWC business administration senior Jakob Beckley of Pleasureville, Ky., received the President's Award, which is presented to the graduating senior who in the opinion of the LWC president best embodies the LWC mission.

Zane Garner, a political science junior from Burkesville, Ky., was named as a returning John B. Begley Scholar. The John B. Begley Scholarship is the college's most prestigious undergraduate scholarship.

LWC Instructor of Religion and Chaplain Troy Elmore was named Teacher of the Year by the LWC SGA; and Director of Learning Delivery and Design Dennis Robinson received the Commitment to Excellence in Education Award.

The LWC Singers were named the top student organization by the LWC Student Government Association. For more than 20 years, the Lindsey Wilson Singers have toured throughout the United States and Europe, giving concerts in more than three dozen states and six countries. Members of the Lindsey Wilson Singers often credit the tours as life-changing experiences. The LWC Singers are directed by Associate Professor of Music Gerald Chafin.

Lindsey Wilson College was forced to postpone the College's spring commencement ceremony due to restrictions from the coronavirus pandemic. LWC will make an announcement about the rescheduled ceremony when plans have been finalized.

Presidential Awards
  • President's Award: Jakob Beckley of Pleasureville, Ky.
  • Alma Jones Wade Scholarship: Samuel Lane Gentry from Greensburg, Ky.
  • Returning John B. Begley Scholar: Zane Garner from Burkesville, Ky.

Campus Awards
  • Club of the Year: LWC Singers
  • Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Cameron Dukes from Shepherdsville, Ky.
  • Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Elly Burke from Louisville, Ky.
  • Teacher of the Year: Instructor of Religion and Chaplain Troy Elmore
  • Commitment to Excellence in Education Award - Dennis Robinson
  • Outstanding Achievement in Math Center Peer Tutoring: Dustin Hammond from Stockton, Calif.
  • Outstanding Achievement in Academic Success Peer Tutoring: Morgan Markwell from Grassy Creek, Ky.
  • Outstanding Writing Consultant: Joanna Tidei from Lawrenceburg, Ky.
  • Outstanding Biology Lab Assistant: Katlyn Barnwell from Middlesboro, Ky.
  • Katie Murrell Library Service Award: Esther Olson from Glasgow, Ky.

Named Awards
  • R.V. Bennett Honors Scholarship: Kaylie Butler from Munfordville, Ky.
  • Mose Dunning Endowed Scholarship: Savanna Cunningham from Louisville, Ky., and Isaac Carter from Columbia, Ky.
  • Emily Vickers Endowed Award for Art: Lauren Decker from Leitchfield, Ky.
  • Boyd-Lubker Award: Connor Firkins from Edmonton, Ky.

Academic Awards

School of Business and Communication
  • Media Studies Award: Lori Meredith from Monticello, Ky.
  • Media Studies Leadership Award: Shelby Herchenrader from Louisville, Ky.
  • Student Publication Award: Emma Turner from Monticello, Ky.
  • Communication: Leigh Bullard Dews from Columbia, Ky.
  • Accounting: Elly Burke from Louisville, Ky., and Jonathan Wilson from Columbia, Ky.
  • Human Resources: Elida Beeman from Lansing, Mich.
  • Management: Molly Carnall from Shepherdsville, Ky.
  • Recreation, Tourism & Sports Management: Sarah Hahn from Camel, Ind., and Emelie Liljered from Stenungsund, Sweden

School of Professional Studies
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in P-5 Education: Elizabeth Oliver from Columbia, Ky
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in Middle Grades: Katie Keltner from Columbia, Ky.
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in 8-12 Education: Jacob Brockman Greensburg, Ky.
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in P-12 Music: Ben Duncan from Monticello, Ky.
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Physical Education and Health: Cameron Dukes from Shepherdsville, Ky.
  • Christian Ministries Award: Joanna Tidei from Lawrenceburg, Ky.
  • Criminal Justice Award: Joe Cantrell from McMinnville, Tenn.
  • Dr. Elizabeth Lowe Whitfield Nursing Professional Development Award: Brittany Paige Pettell from Vine Grove, Ky.
  • Outstanding BSN, Sophomore: Natalie Lohman from Louisville, Ky.
  • Outstanding BSN, Junior: Dylan Antle from Russell Springs, Ky.
  • Outstanding BSN, Senior: Carrie Bertram from Albany, Ky.
  • Outstanding RN to BSN Nursing Student: Karen Clark from Scottsville, Ky.

School of Arts and Humanities
  • English Student of the Year Award: Emma Turner from Monticello, Ky.
  • Women's Studies Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Service: Emma Turner from Monticello, Ky., and Tiera Heady from Loretto, Ky.
  • Orpheus Awards -- Photography: Kaylie Butler from Munfordville, Ky.; Poetry: Dollee Porter from Shelbyville, Ky.; Creative Nonfiction: Justin Sturgeon from Horse Cave, Ky.
  • Outstanding Achievement in Art: Katelyn Hitchcock from Campbellsville, Ky.
  • Social Science: Jacob Brockman from Greensburg, Ky.
  • Political Science: Zachary Settle Campbellsville, Ky.
  • Noma Dix Winston History Scholarship Award: Samuel Lane Gentry from Greensburg, Ky.

School of Mathematics and Sciences
  • Psychology: Jovana Ivanovic from Belgrade, Serbia
  • Psychophysiology: Abigail Wilson from Russell Springs, Ky.
  • Sustainability: Briann Smith from Etowah, Tenn.
  • Biology: Jessica MacDonald from Durban, South Africa

School of Professional Counseling
  • Outstanding Counseling and Human Development Graduate Student: Sharon Loy from Campbellsville, Ky.
  • Human Services and Counseling Award: Joanna Tidei from Lawrenceburg, Ky.

This story was posted on 2020-05-08 06:06:45
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.