Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Wethington named MSC Women's Basketball Coach of the Year

By Christopher Coombs

Bowling Green, KY - John B. Wethington was selected as the Mid-South Conference Women's Basketball Coach of the Year as four Blue Raiders earn All-MSC honors, officials announced at the conference's annual banquet on Thursday night.

Wethington led the Blue Raiders to a 25-5 overall record this season including a 13-3 mark in the MSC. He guided Lindsey Wilson to the second seed in the MSC tournament as he picks up his third MSC Coach of the Year award.

Reagan Turner, DeAsia Outlaw and J'Nayah Hall were each selected to the first team as Jynea Harris picked up second-team honors. Turner and Hall each pick up their second straight first-team honor. Hall adds a second-team distinction during the 2016-17 season to her list of accomplishments.

Turner has averaged 19.10 points per game so far this season which is the ninth-best in the NAIA and leads the MSC. She stepped up her game during conference play, upping her average to 20.75 points per game, ranking fifth in the country. She has scored the fourth-most points in the NAIA, totaling 573 points on the year.

Outlaw leads the MSC in blocks as she has 60 on the season for an average of 2.07 per game. The mark is the seventh most in the NAIA this season. She also adds 73 steals which is the sixth most in the conference. The senior also gets the job done for the Blue Raiders offensively as well as she has averaged 14.17 points a game which is the seventh most in the MSC. Her 7.7 rebounds a game gives her the third-most in the conference with a total of 224 across all competitions this season.

Hall has averaged 11.87 points a game this season to total the tenth most points in the MSC with 356. She adds the seventh most steal in the conference with 65. Hall's 5.97 rebounds this season are good enough for 10th best in the conference.

Harris has racked up 5.77 rebounds per game which is the 13th most in the conference this season as her 10.5 points a game is the 22nd best.

Turner was also selected as the Blue Raiders Champions of Character recipient.

Shawnee State's (Ohio) Bailey Cummings was named the MSC Player of the Year as Campbellsville's (Ky.) Savannah Gregory was named the MSC Randy Vernon Defensive Player of the Year. Thomas More's (Ky.) Zoie Barth was named MSC Freshman of the year.

Lindsey Wilson begins play at the MSC Tournament on Friday as the second-seeded Blue Raiders face seven-seeded Georgetown (Ky.) at 5:30pmCT at Bowling Green Arena.

This story was posted on 2020-03-06 11:38:57
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.