Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Veterans Banners dedication service is May 23, 2024

By Tiffany Collins

Banners were hung this week to honor veterans in our community. The service for the dedication of the banners will be Thursday, May 23, at 9:30amCT at City Hall, 116 Campbellsville Street, Columbia.

The public is invited to attend. Ronnie Holt with the local VFW will be speaking. The DeMolay youth will be leading the pledge. These veterans served in the Vietnam War, Korean War, World War I, World War II, and on active duty.

The honored veterans include:

Phillip Gaskins, Derek Cundiff, Randall Jones, Joe Payne, Leland Grant, Wallace Alexander, Bobby Kimbler, Bernard Dunn, Sammy Hughes, and Charlie Morrison. Additional honorees are James Abell, John Burr, Paul Smith, Michael Callison, Orvis Grider, Travis Giles, Vince Giles, Ronald Burton, Brad Scholl, and Joe Spires.

The list continues with Tommy Corbin, C.W. Grant, Bernard Janes, William Coy Turner, Joe Hare, Ronnie Holt, Russell Arnold, Walter Gene Hoots, Shane Lee Pollard, and Harvey Dean Nash. Further veterans to be honored are William E. (Tootie) Corbin, William J. Burton, Ray G. Willis, Charles Caldwell, Ronald Edwards, Eldridge Bragg, James King, Pamela King, Leon Huff, and Benjamin Hadley.

Honoring veterans also includes Sammy King, Edwin Downey, Billy Fletcher, Noel Hayes, Hindman Loy, John William Guillion, William O. Pendleton, Billy Sullivan, Edward Grider, and Vernon Williams. Also recognized are William F. Keys, Caleb Arnold, Ronald Goetz, Arlin Wheet, George Claywell, Jordan Baker, James Smallwood, John D. Lowe III, William Phelps, and Herman Chelf.

Additionally, we honor William Feese, Lucian Edwards, Raymond Curry, Francis McGowan, Stanley Jones, Clay Thomas Moore, Wilburn Cheatham, Ronald Cheatham, Garold Russell, and James Gaskins. Further veterans recognized are Tom Andrew, Willie Ray Foster, Stevie Foster Graves Sr., Larry D. Huckaby, Walter Ray Graves, Ples T. Grimsley, Ray Partin, Larry T. Antle, Danny D. Kearney, and Kenneth Bryant.

The honored list also includes Robert Gossett, Clifton Hadley, Phillip Keltner, Jimmie Dale Cox, John W. Arnold, William Billy Spoon, Leonard Price Cheatham, Felton Fudge, James Wolford Grant, and Tommy Lee Scott. Finally, we recognize Radius Brown, Charles L. Cole, Clay Jones, Thomas A. Turner, and Leslie Land.

Please join us in this tribute to the brave men and women who have served our country.

This story was posted on 2024-05-20 17:18:55
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.