Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Morgan graduates with DOCJT Class 545

By Michael A. Moore

Richmond, KY - On February 8, 2024, Gov. Andy Beshear announced that 34 law enforcement officers from agencies across the state have graduated the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training's (DOCJT) basic training academy, including David A. Morgan with the Burkesville Police Department. These law enforcement officers will now serve and protect the commonwealth to create safer communities.

"Congratulations to these officers and deputies on their outstanding accomplishment," Gov. Beshear said. "We send them our support for the work they will do in the communities they have volunteered to serve and protect, and we pray for their safety daily."

DOCJT is committed to providing officers with best practices, the latest technology training and legal information to protect the diverse communities they serve. The graduates of Class 545 received more than 800 hours of recruit-level instruction over 20 weeks. Major training areas include patrol procedures, physical training, vehicle operations, defensive tactics, criminal law, traffic and DUI, firearms, criminal investigations, cultural awareness, bias related crimes and tactical responses to crisis situations.

The everchanging nature of public safety and protection requires DOCJT to remain on the cutting edge of law enforcement training practices. This includes providing officers and recruits with the latest technology training and legal information available to protect the diverse communities they serve. Advancements in training, facilities and instruction are made often, allowing DOCJT trainers and trainees to have the most possible resources at their disposal.

Today's 34 graduating law enforcement officers are now ready to wear the badge along with the other 1,357 Kentuckians who have completed their basic training since December 2019. They will work together to create a commonwealth that is safer for all Kentuckians now and into the future.

"I appreciate the commitment from Class 545," said DOCJT Commissioner Nicolai Jilek. "I am confident in the professional service they will provide to all Kentuckians across the commonwealth's 120 counties."

The Beshear-Coleman Administration is proud to welcome the 34 new law enforcement officers into the partnership of public safety. Along with all those currently serving in law enforcement, graduates will play key roles in the ongoing effort to make each of Kentucky's communities safer.

Class 545 graduates and their agencies are:
  • Cobi E. Allgeier-Mitts, Florence Police Department
  • Schenitta S. Baker, Hopkins County Sheriff's Office
  • Tyler A. Ballard, Owensboro Police Department
  • Austin L. Blevins, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Andrew D. Brewer, Jackson County Sheriff's Office
  • Matthew Grant Bryant, Pulaski County Sheriff's Office
  • Trevor J. Collins, Covington Police Department
  • Elam M. Coots, Henderson Police Department
  • Dallas Dukes, Hartford Police Department
  • Jordan M. Englehardt, Henderson Police Department
  • Joseph C. Garland, Mt. Sterling Police Department
  • James O. Goodman, Irvington Police Department
  • Adam W. Graybeal, Elkhorn City Police Department
  • Jordan L. Hawkins, Richmond Police Department
  • Noah A. Howell, Henderson Police Department
  • Rodney Blake Huff, Richmond Police Department
  • Brandon R. Hunt, Owensboro Police Department
  • Jana V. Jarvis, Richmond Police Department
  • Alexander K. Johnson, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Brandon Jones, Perry County Sheriff's Office
  • Matthew D. Loringer, University of Kentucky Police Department
  • Cody M. March, Greenup County Sheriff's Office
  • Robert H. McKnight, Newport Police Department
  • Justin M. Millay, Owensboro Police Department
  • David A. Morgan, Burkesville Police Department
  • Sergio Ramirez-Morales, Newport Police Department
  • Jackson G. Sora, Covington Police Department
  • Christopher J. Spears, Henderson County Sheriff's Office
  • Zachary B. Traugott, Versailles Police Department
  • Truman A. Waddell, Edmonson County Sheriff's Office
  • Paul G. Warren, Owensboro Police Department
  • Henry L. Waters II, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • Megan R. Wear, Newport Police Department
  • Richard P. Winburn, Irvington Police Department
DOCJT provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs' deputies, university police, airport police throughout the state, only excluding Louisville Metro Police Department, Lexington Police Department, Bowling Green Police Department and the Kentucky State Police, which each have independent academies.

This story was posted on 2024-02-09 10:06:06
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.