Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

ACES A-Team takes top honors at Region 9 Governor's Cup

By Lisa Newell-Hare

Adair County Elementary School Academic Team participants competed Monday, February 27, and Monday, March 6, 2023, in Region 9 Governor's Cup at Green County Intermediate School in Greensburg, Kentucky. The region was composed of four districts with a culmination of thirteen schools.

Adair County Elementary School (ACES) finished with top honors in regional play, claiming the title of first overall Region 9 champions. Other accomplishments included placing first place out of five teams in Future Problem Solving (FPS), coached by Mrs. Jeana Pike. ACES Quick Recall Team, coached by Mrs. Lisa Newell-Hare, earned runner-up of eight teams. This accomplished team had eight individual winners in the Written Assessment competitions.

"With the participants practicing since September, it has been exciting to see their hard work end in great success," said Newell-Hare. "Our students have to be disciplined to put in countless hours practicing and studying for these competitions. Their parents deserve praise for their dedication in making sure studying takes place at home outside of practice sessions."

The schools representing Region 9 included District 33 with Bonnieville Elementary, Cub Run Elementary, LeGrande Elementary, and Munfordville Elementary. Adair County Elementary, Green County Intermediate, and Memorial Elementary represented District 34 . District 35 was composed of Clinton County Middle, Cumberland County Elementary, and Metcalfe County Elementary. The schools in District 36 included Jamestown Elementary, Russell Springs Elementary, and Salem Elementary.

The Regional ACES Academic Team was composed of twenty-four members: Hunter Ballou, Emily Burkhardt, Madison Burkhardt, Ricardo Cantoran-Antle, Addison Chapman, Jackson Corbin, Reese Corbin, Ava Froedge, Leo Garsee, Addison Giles, Chloe Grider, Catelynn Fugate, RyAnna Hale, Eli Iqbal, Alexander Klingberg, Bodie Lewis, Andrew Mendoza, Matthew Moss, Carter Nguyen, Ellie Staten, Mia Stephens, Cole Stockton, Raelee Turner, and Grayson Wood.

The winning FPS team featured Hunter Ballou, Madison Burkhardt, RyAnna Hale, & Mia Stephens as the official competing team. Their alternates included Ava Froedge, Leo Garsee, Chloe Grider, Bodie Lewis, Matthew Moss, and Carter Nguyen. Their topic for the competition was Robotic Workforce. "Participating in FPS requires students to use their creativity and problem-solving skills," says Pike, who focuses her coaching duties on FPS. "They've worked hard to learn and apply the six-step creative problem-solving model to complex issues facing society today. I am happy for this group of students and their accomplishments this season."

First place individual winners for ACES include Emily Burkhardt (Arts & Humanities), Ellie Staten (Language Arts), and Ricardo Cantoran-Antle (Mathematics). Other top-five finishers were Ellie Staten (3rd Written Composition & 2nd Social Studies), Mia Stephens (4th Arts & Humanities), and Cole Stockton (5th Arts & Humanities & 2nd Mathematics).

One of the most competitive portions of the competition was the Quick Recall event. ACES won four of six matches they competed in. "I was extremely proud of how well they persevered in a long day of competitions against other strong teams," says Newell-Hare. "They went into the competition with a positive attitude, encouraging their own teammates, as well as their opponents." Quick Recall team members were Emily Burkhardt, Madison Burkhardt, Jackson Corbin, Reese Corbin, Addison Giles, Catelynn Fugate, RyAnna Hale, Eli Iqbal, Andrew Mendoza, Matthew Moss, Carter Nguyen, Cole Stockton, and Grayson Wood. The matches were as follows:
  • Match 1: Adair (17) vs. Metcalfe (10)

  • Match 2: Adair (8) vs. Russell Springs (12)

  • Match 3: Adair (10) vs. Jamestown (2)

  • Match 4: Adair (13) vs. Munfordville (6)

  • Match 5: Adair (18) vs. Russell Springs (10)

  • Match 6: Adair (12) vs. Green (12)
The regional competition is the highest level for the Elementary Governor's Cup, which brings the season to an end. Newell-Hare stated, "We are extremely proud of this year's participants and celebrate their success with them. We will be ready for next season and look forward to working with our next team."

This story was posted on 2023-03-07 12:37:09
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

ACES Academic Team Regional Champions

2023-03-07 - Greensburg, KY - Photo courtesy Lisa Newell-Hare.
ACES Academic Team Regional Champions at Green County Intermediate School in Greensburg, Kentucky

Back Row: (L-R) Coach Jeana Pike ,Alexander Klingberg, Madison Burkhardt, Mia Stephens, RyAnna Hale, Carter Nguyen, Hunter Ballou, Ricardo Cantoran-Antle, and Coach Lisa Newell-Hare

Middle Row: (L-R) Emily Burkhardt, Ellie Staten, Raelee Turner, Andrew Mendoza, Cole Stockton, and Reese Corbin

Front Row: (L-R) Jackson Corbin, Matthew Moss, Catelynn Fugate, Grayson Wood, Eli Iqbal, and Addison Giles

Not pictured: Ava Froedge, Leo Garsee, Chloe Grider, and Bodie Lewis

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.

ACES Regional FPS Governor's Cup Champions

2023-03-07 - Greensburg, KY - Photo courtesy Jeana Pike.
Jeana writes, "Congratulations to the ACES Future Problem Solving Team as they were named Regional Governor's Cup Campions! Their topic for regional competition was 'Robotic Workforce,' and these students came out with the winning FPS Booklet! We are so proud of these kids who represented our school and communtiy well! Congratulations!"

Pic L/R: Coach Jeana Pike, Madison Burkhardt, Emily Burkhardt, Ryanna Hale, Mia Stephens, Matthew Moss, Carter Nguyen, Hunter Ballou

FPS members not pictured: Ava Froedge, Leo Garsee, Chloe Grider, and Bodie Lewis

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.