Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

CU to present Best Christmas Pageant Ever Dec 8-11

By Emily Roberts

Campbellsville, KY - Campbellsville University's Department of Theatre and Dance, Town Hall Productions and Heritage Children Services will present "The Best Christmas Pageant Ever" December 8-11 in the Russ Mobley Theatre, 114 University Drive, Campbellsville.

Show times are 7pmET on Thursday, December 8, Friday, December 9 and Saturday December 10; and 2:30pmET on Sunday, December 11, 2022.

The musical is based on the 1971 children's novel by Barbara Robinson.

General admission is $12. Cost of admission for Campbellsville University students is $8. Admission for children under 12 and seniors 65 and over is $8. Tickets are available at

A synopsis of the musical said, "The Herdmans are the worst kids in the history of the world, so when they crash Sunday school and demand parts in the Christmas pageant, the whole town panics."

"There's not supposed to be biting or cigar-smoking in Bethlehem, and while these kids have never even heard the Christmas story, they definitely have rewrites!"

Soon, everyone is calling for reluctant director Grace Bradley to cancel the entire show. It's up to the Bradleys and the Reverend to help their community see the Christmas story and the Herdman kids through new eyes in this buoyant musical adaptation of the funny and touching holiday classic.

The cast list is as follows: Brayden Cole, from Columbia, Ky., plays the role of Ralph Herdman. Lilly Coots, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Imogene Herdman.

Connor Coots, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Leroy Herdman. Owen Hodges, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Claude Herdman. Keightly Pickett, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Ollie Herdman. Henslee Grubesic, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Gladys Herdman.

Malorie Bryne, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Grace Bradley. Colin Harris, sophomore from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Bob Bradley. Jackson Hayes, sophomore from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Charlie Bradley.

Nora Harris, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Beth Bradley. Nathan Williams, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Reverend Hopkins. Jaren Childers, from Elizabethtown, Ky., plays Helen Armstrong.

Jennifer Smith, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Luanne the churchgoer. Malarie Drake, from Russellville, Ark., plays the churchgoer Betty. Maddie Crowder, from Greensburg, Ky., plays Connie, who is also a churchgoer.

Faith Wilson, from Louisville, Ky., and Natalie Acosta, from Campbellsville, Ky., play the role of a church lady. Katie Munford, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays the candy striper. Cheyenne Keith, from Greensburg, Ky., plays Alice Wendleken. Channing Young, a junior from Lebanon, Ky., plays Elmer Hopkins.

Nicholas Santos, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Teddy Shoemaker. Sophia Santos, from Campbellsville, Ky., plays Ivy Reed.

Lyra Bagby, from Greensburg, Ky., along with Daniella Barrios, Fairington Pickett, Katie Mumford, Tessa Smith, Isla Snyder, and Annabelle Williams, all from Campbellsville, Ky., play the church and school children.

The tech crew is as follows: Andrew Ward, director of Town Hall Productions, is the production's producer. Kristin Dowdy, assistant professor of theatre, is the director. Cyndi Chadwick, from Robards, Ky., is the music director.

Alia McClendon, community theatre manager, is the tech director. Emily Burchett, from Glasgow, Ky., is stage manager. Savannah Sharp, sophomore from Liberty, Ky., is the assistant stage manager and music board operator.

Lauren Phillips, 2022 graduate of Campbellsville University, is the costume designer. Gavin Johnson, a junior from Campbellsville, Ky., will oversee costumes. Emily Whitehurst, sophomore from Liberty Ky., is in charge of hair and makeup.

Abagail Tollison, senior from Glasgow, Ky., is the props designer. Alex West, a freshman from Burnside, Ky.; Isaac Rogers, a freshman from Campbellsville, Ky.; and Lacey Miller, a freshman from Radcliff, Ky., will serve as members of the props crew. Gabe Taylor, a senior from Taylorsville, Ky., will oversee scenic design and construction.

Aliana Frankowicz, Aniana Frankowicz, Tranquility Frankowicz, Isaac Rogers, Carynne Ritter, all from Campbellsville, Ky., and Bryce Osborne, a freshman from Nicholasville, Ky., are part of the scenic paint crew. Osborne will also oversee light board operation.

McClendon will also oversee lights design. Nicholas Hardin, freshman from Hodgenville, Ky., is the spot operator for the light crew.

Corporate sponsors are Community Trust Bank, Tucker Family Medicine, Campbellsville Dental Care, Tucker Diamonds and Gold, The White Orchid and Papa Johns.

Online ticket sales will end at noon the day of the production. Afterward, tickets can be reserved by calling (270) 283-0566 or purchased at the door while supplies last.

To make special requests for handicapped seating, call (270) 789-5266.

This story was posted on 2022-12-01 06:43:00
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.