Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

School Resource Officer Training graduates announced

From Kelly Foreman

Richmond, KY - On July 22, 2022, Gov. Andy Beshear and the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training (DOCJT) announced that 29 law enforcement officers from agencies across the commonwealth assigned to specific school campuses graduated the sixth School Resource Officer (SRO) III Training. The graduating officers have completed the 120 hours of state mandated training over a three-year timeframe (SRO I, SRO II and SRO III), making them fully certified to work in Kentucky's school systems.

Local graduates include:
  • Anthony B. Darnell, Columbia Police Department
  • Jordan D. Buis, Liberty Police Department
  • Troy G. Young, Russell County Sheriff's Office
  • Clete P. McAninch, Russell Springs Police Department
  • Jackie A. Grider, Russell County Sheriff's Office
"Ensuring the safety and well-being of Kentucky's schools is a top priority of my administration," said Gov. Beshear. "I commend you on taking on this responsibility. Thank you for all you do for your agency, school systems and the commonwealth."

DOCJT's SRO training targets the specific needs of officers who are assigned to provide safety and security to the students and staff located inside a school. The SRO courses were revamped after the School Safety and Resilience Act passed in 2019. That year, the training was updated and expanded to serve today's schoolchildren and administrators. The three levels of training are now offered to active, certified law enforcement serving as school resource officers. All SROs must complete the SRO I in-service course within one year of their start date. SRO II and SRO III training courses are required to be completed the following two years as the annual in-service training. SRO training includes topics such as working with special-needs students, mental health awareness and trauma-informed action. Firearms and tactics refresher training are also included.

"School resources officers are a vital part of law enforcement agencies in today's world," said DOCJT Commissioner Nicolai Jilek. "I am proud of the efforts you have made to help make our schools a safe place for children to learn."

In April 2022, Gov. Beshear signed House Bill 63 ( into law, which introduces new SRO requirements for school districts. The new law requires that each campus have an SRO by Aug. 1, 2022, if possible.

The law (KRS 158.4414(2)) further states that, "if sufficient funds and qualified personnel are not available for this purpose for every campus, the local board of education shall fulfill the requirements of this subsection on a per-campus basis, as approved in writing by the state school security marshal, until a certified school resource officer is assigned to and working on-site, full-time on each campus in the district."

The Office of the School Security Marshal is working closely with each school district to implement HB 63 and coordinate a plan to overcome any obstacles.

For more information about the role an SRO plays in school safety click here ( .

SRO III Class 6 graduates and their agencies are:

  • David L. Amon, Garrard County Sheriff's Office
  • Bart W. Blythe, Simpson County Sheriff's Office
  • Jordan D. Buis, Liberty Police Department
  • Mark A. Cromwell, Glasgow Police Department
  • Anthony B. Darnell, Columbia Police Department
  • Michael S. Dehner, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  • Phillip E. Dunford, Independence Police Department
  • Jacob D. Edwards, Nicholasville Police Department
  • Robert M. Ervin, Grant County Sheriff's Office
  • Bradley J. Ezell, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  • Howard M. Garrison, Glasgow Police Department
  • Jackie A. Grider, Russell County Sheriff's Office
  • Lucas J. Hoseclaw, Somerset Police Department
  • Jeffery K. Jones, Fayette County Schools Police Department
  • Jerry D. Marcum, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • John W. Marshall, Beattyville Police Department
  • Ryan T. Mays, Fayette County Schools Police Department
  • Clete P. McAninch, Russell Springs Police Department
  • Robert Morgan, Grant County Sheriff's Office
  • Stephen W. Muntz, Cynthiana Police Department
  • Charles Franklin Phillips, Taylor Mill Police Department
  • Lawrence L. Robinson, Elizabethtown Police Department
  • George Wayne Russell, Madisonville Police Department
  • Serena Sandusky, Fayette County Schools Police Department
  • Christopher Saunders, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  • Kevin M. Schwartz, Boone County Sheriff's Office
  • Thomas E. Spencer, Wayne County Sheriff's Office
  • Robert Michael Waldrop, Warren County Sheriff's Office
  • Troy G. Young, Russell County Sheriff's Office

This story was posted on 2022-07-22 18:25:57
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

McDonald's at 980 Jamestown Road Columbia is locally owned and operated and proud to serve our community. Like us on Facebook at


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.