Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Dyer, Tweedy graduate basic training

By Michael A. Moore

Richmond, KY - Gov. Andy Beshear and the Kentucky Department of Criminal Justice Training (DOCJT) announced on Friday that law enforcement officers from agencies across the state have graduated the basic training academy.

Among the 27 recruits who completed their training were Robert L. Dyer with the Cumberland County Sheriff's Office and Hunter L. Tweedy with the Burkesville Police Department.

"We congratulate these officers and deputies on their accomplishment," Gov. Beshear said. "We send them our support for the work they will do in the communities they serve."

DOCJT is committed to providing officers with best practices, the latest technology training and legal information to protect the diverse communities they serve. The graduates of Class 525 received 800 hours of recruit-level instruction over 20 weeks. Major training areas include patrol procedures, physical training, vehicle operations, defensive tactics, criminal law, traffic and DUI, firearms, criminal investigations, cultural awareness, bias related crimes and tactical responses to crisis situations.

"I appreciate the commitment from Class 525," said DOCJT Commissioner Nicolai Jilek."I am confident in the professional service they will offer the citizens they protect across the commonwealth."

DOCJT provides basic training for city and county police officers, sheriffs' deputies, university police, airport police throughout the state, only excluding Louisville Metro Police Department, Lexington Police Department, Bowling Green Police Department and the Kentucky State Police, which each have independent academies.

Class 525 graduates and their agencies are:
  • Travis R. Ashcraft, Winchester Police Department
  • Dakota T. Begley, Madison County Sheriff's Office
  • Derick W. Carr, Manchester Police Department
  • Anthony B. Catania, Frankfort Police Department
  • Adam C. Collins, Raceland Police Department
  • Brian J. Cooper, Gallatin County Sheriff's Office
  • Carlos M. Cordero, Paducah Police Department
  • Austin B. Cornett, Taylor Mill Police Department
  • Troyal S. Cox, Menifee County Sheriff's Office
  • Victoria A. Cuellar, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Robert L. Dyer, Cumberland County Sheriff's Office
  • Timothy R. Gallogly, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Seth A. Gover, Pulaski County Sheriff's Office
  • Dylan W. Greenwall, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Bryce P. Harrison, Winchester Police Department
  • Leon T. Hunt, Winchester Police Department
  • Brenton S. McAskill, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Jackson C. McCormick, Paducah Police Department
  • Preston M. Pitman, Pulaski County Sheriff's Office
  • Michael A. Raisor, Mercer County Sheriff's Office
  • Cheyenne S. Rose, Hopkinsville Police Department
  • Zachary Stayton, Covington Police Department
  • Samuel A. Stratton, Anderson County Sheriff's Office
  • Desirae N. Thacker, Paris Police Department
  • Jansen T. Thomas, Winchester Police Department
  • Hunter L. Tweedy, Burkesville Police Department
  • Samantha M. Wilson, Paducah Police Department

This story was posted on 2022-04-16 10:53:02
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.