Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

KHSAA expands 16th District to include five schools

By Torrie Osbon, Director of Communications
Metcalfe County Schools

High school basketball tournaments are underway across the state, including in the 16th district, with Metcalfe, Clinton, Cumberland, and Russell Counties.. Next year, the competition gets more challenging.

In January, the KHSAA (Kentucky High School Athletic Association) Board of Control approved a request from Monroe County High School to return to district 16. Monroe moved out of the district in 2005, and at the same time, Russell County moved in. The current realignment does not require a school to move out of district 16, which means five teams will compete in post-season tournaments.

The Board of Control also approved adding Foundation Christian to the 14th district and moving Warren East from the 14th to the 15th district.

Metcalfe County Superintendent Josh Hurt met with the Board of Control in November. Hurt said all of the schools in the current 16th district and many schools in the 4th region opposed the expansion.

"This move takes the most disadvantaged geographic district in the 4th region and makes it considerably worse," Hurt said. "Three of the longest drives in the region for district opponents will lie in the 16th district. Further, this presents a significant shift in the competitive balance in the region as a whole and forces the 16th district to carry the burden of the decision from a competitive standpoint."

In a news release issued on January 19, KHSAA Commissioner Julian Tackett said, "Looking at the alignment solely on a geographic basis, the Board felt the moves were warranted... There was a considerable amount of feedback from member schools and systems, and the Board did an exemplary job ensuring the issues stayed with geography so that consistency with the other Regions could be maintained."

Hurt said multiple letters were sent to the Board of Control opposing the realignment, but unfortunately, the vote did not go in his favor. "While we welcome our neighbors from Monroe County back to the 16th District, we are mindful about the difficulties a five-team district will cause."

Region 4 consists of districts 13, 14, 15, and 16. For the 2022-2023 school year, districts 14 and 16 will have five-member schools, while districts 13 and 15 will have four. Sports affected include basketball, baseball, softball, and volleyball.

This story was posted on 2022-03-01 11:21:02
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.