Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

USDA loans available for agricultural storm damage

Adair, Casey, Green, Metcalfe, and Taylor Counties are among those eligible for low-interest loans in response to December 2021 storms. The deadline to apply for the loans is Aug. 30, 2022.

By Sean Southard

Frankfort, KY - Several Kentucky counties affected by the December 2021 storms that produced tornadoes and high winds in Western Kentucky are now eligible for low-interest loans from the U.S. Department of Agricultural (USDA), Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture Dr. Ryan Quarles recently announced.

The loan-interest loans offered by USDA are for physical losses and can help producers repair or replace damaged or destroyed physical property essential to the success of the agricultural operation, including livestock losses. Examples of property commonly affected include essential farm buildings, fixtures to real estate, equipment, livestock, perennial crops, fruit and nut bearing trees, and harvested or stored crops and hay.

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

"Both my office and I have been on the ground in western Kentucky and witnessed the historic and devastating destruction that hit the region last month," Commissioner Quarles said. "Our farmers need funds and resources to maintain operations and rebuild. The low-interest loans offered by USDA may help some get back on their feet and regain some sense of normalcy."

USDA designated 24 Kentucky counties as primary eligibility areas for low-interest physical loss loans. They include: Barren, Boyle, Breckinridge, Caldwell, Christian, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Green, Hardin, Hart, Hickman, Hopkins, Logan, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McLean, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Spencer, Taylor, Warren

The USDA has also designated 29 counties as contiguous and also eligible. They include: Adair, Allen, Anderson, Bullitt, Butler, Calloway, Carlisle, Casey, Crittenden, Daviess, Garrard, Hancock, Henderson, Jefferson, LaRue, Lincoln, Livingston, McCracken, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nelson, Shelby, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Washington, and Webster.

This story was posted on 2022-01-11 11:28:06
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by Linda Waggener and Pen Waggener, PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia Magazine. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.