ColumbiaMagazine.com
Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  
 





























 
Hardin Planetarium to present Perserverance to Reach Mars

By Tommy Newton

Perseverance to Reach Mars will open Thursday night at WKU's Hardin Planetarium. The show will be presented at 7pmCT on Tuesday, 7pmCT on Thursday and 2pmCT on Sunday through February 18, 2021. Hardin Planetarium is located on the corner of State St & 15th Ave, at 1906 College Heights Blvd, Bowling Green, KY.

NASA's Perseverance Rover will reach Mars on February 18, 2021, to begin its search for signs of ancient microbial life, and characterizing environmental conditions that could affect future astronauts living and working on Mars. Perseverance will be only the fifth rover to attempt landing on Mars - when less than 50% of the missions ever sent to Mars by any space agency have been successful. The mission for this 1-ton, compact-car sized, nuclear-powered science laboratory on 6-wheels is to navigate around Jezero Crater's ancient river delta, analyzing 3.5 billion-year old samples formed when Mars was still wet.

The 35-minute presentation is free of charge and suitable for all ages. No ticket required and no reservations are accepted. It will begin on time, with no late entrance permitted. Masks are to be worn at all times within the building.



Our temporarily limited capacity provides for substantial distancing in Hardin Planetarium's large spaces. Guest names and phone numbers will be collected for contact tracing, and seating is assigned by planetarium staff. Shortly before the show, attendees will be guided to their assigned seats within the domed star chamber. While waiting to be seated, guests are encouraged to explore the exhibits, moving counter-clockwise through the Ring Hall.

Show times and dates:
  • Thursday, January 7, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, January 10, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, January 12, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, January 14, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, January 17, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, January 19, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, January 21, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, January 24, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, January 26, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, January 28, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, January 31, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, February 2, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, February 4, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, February 7, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, February 9, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, February 11, 7pmCT
  • Sunday, February 14, 2pmCT
  • Tuesday, February 16, 7pmCT
  • Thursday, February 18, 7pmCT


This story was posted on 2021-01-04 14:18:56
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.



 





























 
 
Quick Links to Popular Features


 

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and columbiamagazine.com are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017


Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to webmaster@columbiamagazine.com. All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.