Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Quarles congratulates new State Board of Agriculture members

By Sean Southard

Frankfort, KY - Eight new members have been appointed to the State Board of Agriculture, and five members have been reappointed, including Tony Cowherd of Taylor County.

"Let me be the first to say 'congratulations' and welcome to the new members of the State Board of Agriculture," Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles said. "This is one of the most important boards that works with the Kentucky Department of Agriculture throughout the year. I look forward to working with each member to advance the priorities of Kentucky's farm families."

The new members appointed Nov. 22 by Gov. Matt Bevin are:

  • Jed Clark of Graves County, who represents crop farmers for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2023, grows soybeans, corn, and hemp near Lynnville;

  • Daniel Hayden of Daviess County, who represents animal agriculture for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2023, manages Hayden Farms, his family's poultry and cattle operation;

  • Adam Hinton of Fleming County, who represents agribusinesses for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2023, is vice president of Hinton Mills in Cynthiana;

  • Robert Coleman James III of Fayette County, who represents crop farmers for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2022, raises tobacco, corn, wheat, and rye on his family's historic Walnut Lawn Farm;

  • Micah Lester of Trigg County, who represents crop farmers for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2021, grows corn, soybeans, and wheat for Lester Family Farms near Gracey;

  • Eddie Melton of Webster County, who represents Kentucky Farm Bureau for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2021, is first vice president of KFB;

  • Sam F. Halcomb of Logan County, who represents crop farmers for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2020, raises corn, soybeans, wheat, barley, and rye on his family's Walnut Grove Farms; and

  • Louie Rivers Jr. of Franklin County, who represents farmers at-large for a term expiring Aug. 1, 2020, previously served as director of county operations for Kentucky State University's Cooperative Extension Program.

Five board members were reappointed: Mary Bach of Bath County, Becky Brady of Fayette County, Tony Cowherd of Taylor County, Mark Reding of Nelson County, and Billy Glenn Turpin of Madison County.

The first meeting of the new board will be at 1:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 6 in Frankfort, following the swearing in of Kentucky's constitutional officers, including the Commissioner Quarles, in the Capitol rotunda. The meeting will include an orientation session and a review of the duties of members.

This story was posted on 2019-12-09 14:37:20
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.


Quick Links to Popular Features

Looking for a story or picture?
Try our Photo Archive or our Stories Archive for all the information that's appeared on


Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270.403.0017

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.