Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

Forty-one Cadets Graduate from KSP Academy

New graduates headed to Post 15: Allen D. Shirley, of Columbia, Dexter B. Colvin, of Campbellsville, Ricky E. Cross, of Edmonton, and Daniel S. Forbis, of Campbellsville.

By Tpr. Josh Brashears

Frankfort, KY - The Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 41 new troopers at ceremonies held in Frankfort today. Their addition to the force brings the agency's strength to a total of 866 troopers serving the citizens of the Commonwealth.

The new troopers are part of the agency's 95th cadet class, which was the agency's fourth Law Enforcement Accelerated Program (LEAP), a condensed course for current officers who have two years of Kentucky Police Officer Professional Standards (POPS) law enforcement experience.

The training included more than 500 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigations, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

They reported for duty on May 21, 2016 in a class that consisted of 63 cadets. Twenty-two resigned during the program.

KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders said the addition of these newly-graduated troopers will help with the current strength, but does not come close to resolving the agency's shortage of personnel.

"Like other police agencies, we have been challenged with maintaining our strength of active officers in light of retirements and attrition," Sanders said. "In 2000, the agency manpower was more than 1,000. Yet, we are doing more today with fewer personnel and resources than we had back then. To add to this dilemma, we are servicing a higher population while seeing new crime that we didn't have in the past such as human trafficking, electronic sexual exploitation of children and the potential threat of terrorism."

Sanders went on to say that "the role of law enforcement has developed exponentially to meet the needs of an ever-changing society, and KSP is a significantly more specialized agency compared to the past. With more troopers working in specialized capacities that means fewer troopers available to respond to calls for service."

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Matt Parmley, of Monticello, Ky., and salutatorian Jerry Baker, of Viper, Ky.

Clayton Ellis, of Elizabethtown, Ky., received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the KSP Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy's physical and vocational training.

Justin Flannery, of Hazel Green, Ky., received the Commissioner's Commitment to Excellence Award, which is presented to cadets who demonstrate leadership, the desire to get the job done and the determination to be the best every day.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:

  • Jay D. Dunn, Mayfield
  • James B. Luckett, Louisville
  • Richard Hunter Carroll, Hopkinsville
  • Joseph O. Beasley, Leitchfield
  • Richard C. Ellis, Elizabethtown
  • Tyler K. Lynch, Big Spring
  • Neal M. Barnes, Richmond
  • Casey Y. Caudill, Winchester
  • Toney R. Dollins, Jr., Crab Orchard
  • Jack E. Lakes, Annville
  • Joshua S. Roaden, Berea
  • Carl B. Roark, Richmond
  • Jacob R. Shepherd, Lancaster
  • Adam R.G. Short, Mt. Vernon
  • Justin A. Flannery, Hazel Green
  • Christopher H. Ingram, Ewing
  • Justin T. Reynolds, Florence
  • Kyler B. Wright, Morehead
  • Billy E. Holbrook, Paintsville
  • Darvin E. Marsillett, Auxier
  • Sidney K. Wagner, Corbin
  • Michael A. Wilson, London
  • Shawn M. Boroviak, London
  • Keegan T. Bray, Somerset
  • Adam Cole Dodson, Monticello
  • Jordan P. Hopkins, London
  • Matthew Kyle Parmley, Monticello
  • Travis Lane Thompson, Somerset
  • Seath A. Whiles, Somerset
  • Logan T. Wolfe, Manchester
  • Bradley S. Gillock, Morehead
  • Andrew W. Lee, Lebanon
  • William C. Spears, Lawrenceburg
  • William W. Adams, Whitesburg
  • Jerry A. Baker, Hazard
  • Wilson G. Jones, Hazard
  • Dexter B. Colvin, Campbellsville
  • Ricky E. Cross, Edmonton
  • Daniel S. Forbis, Campbellsville
  • Allen D. Shirley, Columbia
  • Shaun R. Schroader, Philpot
Each new trooper will be supervised by a training officer for six to eight weeks after reporting to their post assignments.

This story was posted on 2017-08-12 05:33:26
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.

KSP Academy graduates 41 new troopers

2017-08-12 - Frankfort, KY - Photo courtesy Kentucky State Police.
The 41 cadets of Kentucky State Police Academy Class 95 graduated on Friday, Aug. 11, 2017 in Frankfort.

Local graduates include Allen D. Shirley, of Columbia, Dexter B. Colvin, of Campbellsville, Ricky E. Cross, of Edmonton, and Daniel S. Forbis, of Campbellsville.

Read More... | Comments? | Click here to share, print, or bookmark this photo.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.