Printed from:

Welcome to Columbia Magazine  

2016 LWC Honors Convocation recognizes 51 individuals

Fifty individuals recognized at Annual Honors Convocation: Colby Allen, Melissa Arnold, Delena Ballou, Elizabeth Caldwell, Joe Cozart, Darrian Dalton, Sarah Durham, Amy Farmer, Christian Faulls, Courtney Fleeger, Sydney Fleurdelys, Olivia Garlt, Amanda Gerald, Aaron Goode, David Harting, Tyler Harting, Susan Herrington, Gloria Hensley, Kristen Hoehler ,Karly Jefferson, Nicole Jones, Caleb Keeton, Jessica Marie King, Samuel Lowe, Sumer Marsee, Carrie Mason, Wes Murphy, Michael Hart, Zack Lawson, Alec Mueller, Zac Oaks, Aleksi Pahkasalo, Lileana Pearson, Leslie Pelston, Jordan Perry, Josh Powers, Rebekah Sanders, Courtney Sandlin, Benson Sexton, Sarah Shell, Kasey Smallwood, Elizabeth Smith, Taylor Southwood, Mariah Stearns, Lane Thompson, Amy Wethington, John Paul Williams, Tyler Williams, Roslin Wilson, Daylon Wynn, Rebecca Wynn
Click on headline for complete story

By Travis Smith
News from Lindsey Wilson College

A total of 49 students received academic honors and two faculty members were recognized by their peers and LWC students at the college's annual Honors Convocation held Tuesday, April 19, 2016, in Biggers Sports Center.

The following awards and honors were announced:

Student Awards
  • Colby Allen of Jamestown, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement Biology; Outstanding Achievement & Performance in Academic Success Center Peer Tutoring
  • Delena Ballou of Columbia, KY - Cash Award
  • Elizabeth Caldwell of Greensburg, KY - Environmental Award
  • Joe Cozart of Brandon, FL - Outstanding Academic Achievement in P-12 Physical Education and Health
  • Darrian Dalton of Albany, KY - Elizabeth Lowe Whitfield Nursing Professional Development Award
  • Sarah Durham of Campbellsville, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement Counseling & Human Development
  • Amy Farmer of Elk Horn, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement - P-5 Elementary Education
  • Christian Faulls of Owensboro, KY- Outstanding Academic Achievement in Communication
  • Courtney Fleeger of Rossville, IN - Emily Vickers Endowed Award in Art
  • Sydney Fleurdelys of Columbia, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement, Middle Grades English
  • Olivia Garlt of Louisville, KY - Outstanding Achievement in Orpheus (poetry)
  • Amanda Gerald of Scottsville, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement Mathematics and Mathematics Peer Tutoring
  • Aaron Goode of Summershade, KY - Outstanding Federal Student Employee Award
  • Tyler Harting of Leitchfield, KY - Outstanding Achievement Christian Ministries
  • Susan Herrington of Fort Riley, KS and David Harting of Leitchfield - Alpha Eta Gamma Outstanding Thespian Award
  • Gloria Hensley of London, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Psychophysiology
  • Kristen Hoehler of Elizabethtown, KY - Begley Scholar Award
  • Karly Jefferson of Brooksville, KY - Alma Jones Wade Scholarship Award
  • Nicole Jones of Columbia, KY - Outstanding Achievement Evening College Program
  • Caleb Keeton of Oregonia, OH - President's Award; Outstanding Academic Achievement, Middle Grades Science
  • Jessica Marie King of Eagleville, PA - Outstanding Academic Achievement Criminal Justice; Student-Athlete of the Year
  • Samuel Lowe of Greensburg, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement in Business Management
  • Sumer Marsee of Pineville, KY - Outstanding Achievement in Accounting
  • Carrie Mason of Canmer, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance in Writing Center Peer Tutoring; Outstanding Achievement in Fiction for Orpheus
  • Wes Murphy of Clarksville, TN, Michael Hart of Indianapolis and Zack Lawson of Bloomfield, KY - ENACTUS award
  • Wes Murphy of Clarksville, TN, Michael Hart of Indianapolis, IN and Alec Mueller of Gurnee, IL - Center for Entrepreneurship Concept Competition Award
  • Zac Oaks of Russell Springs, KY - Outstanding Achievement in Media Studies
  • Aleksi Pahkasalo of Finland - Outstanding Academic Achievement Recreation, Tourism and Sports Management
  • Lileana Pearson of Columbia, KY - Outstanding Achievement in Journalism
  • Leslie Pelston of Columbia, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Academic Excellence in Nursing (Cohort 6)
  • Jordan Perry of Pine Knot, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement Psychology
  • Josh Powers of Hawesville, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement in History
  • Rebekah Sanders of Waynesville, OH - Outstanding Academic Achievement English; Boyd-Lubker Award
  • Courtney Sandlin of Williamstown, KY - Outstanding Achievement in Human Resources
  • Sarah Shell of Danville, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Academic Excellence in Nursing (Cohort 4)
  • Kasey Smallwood of Cecilia, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Academic Excellence in Nursing
  • Elizabeth Smith of Kentucky - Outstanding Academic Achievement, Middle Grades Mathematics
  • Taylor Southwood of Monticello, KY - Noma Dix Winston History Scholarship Award
  • Mariah Stearns of Bardstown, KY -Outstanding Achievement in Student Publications
  • Lane Thompson of Center, KY - R.V. Bennett Scholarship Award
  • Amy Wethington of Somerset, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Academic Excellence in Nursing (online)
  • John Paul Williams of Derry - Male Scholar Athlete of the Year
  • Tyler Williams of West Chester, OH - Outstanding Achievement in Human Resources
  • Roslin Wilson of Glensfork, KY - Outstanding Achievement & Performance for Academic Excellence in Nursing (Cohort 5)
  • Daylon Wynn of Clospint, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement in Human Services and Counseling
  • Rebecca Wynn of Closplint, KY - Outstanding Academic Achievement, 8-12 Secondary Education.
  • Student Government Association Club/Organization of the Year - LIFE

Faculty Awards
  • Professor of Education Melissa Arnold - Exemplary United Methodist Teacher of the Year
  • Instructor of Communication Benson Sexton - Student Government Association Teacher of the Year

This story was posted on 2016-04-28 16:10:33
Printable: this page is now automatically formatted for printing.
Have comments or corrections for this story? Use our contact form and let us know.

To sponsor news and features on ColumbiaMagazine, please use our contact form.


Quick Links to Popular Features content is available as an RSS/XML feed for your RSS reader or other news aggregator.
Use the following link:

Contact us: Columbia Magazine and are published by D'Zine, Ltd., PO Box 906, Columbia, KY 42728.
Phone: 270-250-2730 Fax: 270-751-0401

Please use our contact page, or send questions about technical issues with this site to All logos and trademarks used on this site are property of their respective owners. All comments remain the property and responsibility of their posters, all articles and photos remain the property of their creators, and all the rest is copyright 1995-Present by Columbia! Magazine and D'Zine, Ltd. Privacy policy: use of this site requires no sharing of information. Voluntarily shared information may be published and made available to the public on this site and/or stored electronically. Anonymous submissions will be subject to additional verification. Cookies are not required to use our site. However, if you have cookies enabled in your web browser, some of our advertisers may use cookies for interest-based advertising across multiple domains. For more information about third-party advertising, visit the NAI web privacy site.